Posted by: calloftheandes | October 6, 2008

I DO MISS EVEN THE 43 STEPS I USED TO CLIMB

Note: Ruthie J wrote this quick update, signing off as “The Idaho Potato”. She writes in all caps, but she is not shouting. I think it has more to do with macular degeneration in her eyes. I will try to add a photo of the Jordan Studio, more commonly known as “The Cave” to those of us who worked in English Language Service.
I have set up a category tag called “Mailblog”, a name which hearkens back to the old “Musical Mailbag” letterbox program on Radio Station HCJB. If you correspond via e-mail with me about your time with HCJB Global in Latin America Region, please include an “okay” if your update is also shared with others on calloftheandes.wordpress.com.
I have added a link to our own blog where I featured Ruthie, as well as Leonard and Imogene Booker in an entry called “Aging With Grace”.

RALPH I JUST WROTE YOU A LONG NOTE AND IT DISAPPEARED INTO OUTER SPACE.

JUST WONDERED HOW YOU AND KATHY ARE DOING DOWN THERE. ALSO HARD TO
BELIEVE THAT YOUR CHILDREN ARE ALL GROWN UP!

I HAVE SUCH NOSTALGIA AS I REMEMBER THE DAYS UP THERE ON THE THIRD FLOOR OF
THE TV BUILDING. WONDER IF THAT LITTLE STUDIO EXISTS WITH A PICTURE OF
RUTHIE JORDAN. IF SO, I’M SURE IT IS READY FOR THE TRASH BIN. I DO MISS
EVEN THE 43 STEPS I USED TO CLIMB TO GET TO WORK.

FRANCOISE DOSSMANN WAS JUST HERE FOR A RECENT VISIT. IT WAS GOOD TO SEE
HER AGAIN. SHE AND DANIEL WILL BE MOVING BACK TO FRANCE ON THE 21ST OF
OCTOBER.

LIFE IS GOOD HERE IN NAMPA, ESPECIALLY BECAUSE I AM LIVING JUST A FEW
MINUTES FROM GENIE AND LYNN.

LOVE TO YOU BOTH, AND KEEP ME UP ON THE NEWS OF WHAT GOES ON THERE IN
QUITO. ANXIOUS TO KNOW THE OUTCOME OF OUR SEARCH FOR A NEW PRESIDENT.

BLESSINGS AND LOVE, FROM
THE IDAHO POTATO, BETTER SAID
THE MASHED POTATO

HARD TO BELIEVE THAT THE HOSPITAL IN SHELL IS FIFTY YEARS OLD! I REMEMBER
WHEN IT WAS BUILD. GOLLY, I MUST BE GETTING OLD! WELL, I AM 84!

More about Ruthie here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

